« Do You Owe Your Company Loyalty? | Main | I Love Me Some TiVo. And They're Hiring »

Staffing Firms Getting Serious About The Online World

Staffing Firms are upping their ante in online recruiting - spending money both on Online Ads and in SEO.

An online marketing agency on behalf of Teksystems got ahold of me about a month ago, asking about the cost of purchasing a link at StlRecruiting - and asking about a 12 month discount.  They also have Google Ads enabled for at least their name to drive you to their site.

Personally I'd recommend a blog, seeing as if you search 'teksystems blog", my review of their local website was the number three result.  But then again, I recommend a blog for just about everything, so what do I know?

I also notice that Robert Half is advertising banners ads at SimplyHired.  If you search Java Jobs, you see Oracle, Dice, and Robert Half pop up in the top search (hattip: Cheesman)

Spherion has their blog, which is being populated pretty well, and so does Yoh (the Recruiter) and Volt (the Volt Insider).  Am I missing anyone here?

And MySpace Pages?  Unfortunately, Kforce has one.  Oh my - they should have taken my advice - but that's another story for a different time.  Kforce also has a MySpace Group, and tey allow you to listen to the mp3 of Eye of the Tiger.  Somewhere, one of their links also took me to Money, Money, Money, Money.  Ouch.  The networking pages are the best, as they have nothing to do with staffing, but they also haven't touched the site since December, so, well, maybe it's abandoned.

But you do have to be careful in these places.  There is a young lady named kforce, who has her own kforce page, and I'm not going to link to it because most of you would be fired.  It's the sixth result for google if you search "kforce myspace."

Did I miss anyone?  Are there any other major firms that are blogging, MySpacing, Facebooking, or spending money online?

Comments

It looks like both TEKsystems and Aerotek have pretty nice MySpace pages and they look very corporate,

http://www.myspace.com/aerotekstaffing and http://www.myspace.com/teksystemsstaffing.

A quick check on John reveals him to be the Director of Web and Creative Design for Allegis group, which is the parent company of Teksystems and Aerotek.

But in all fairness, the websites he promotes on MySpace are indeed professional, and do look nice with no, "uh oh, turn off the monitor" moments.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.

Google Ads